Tonya Hoover


Call for Nominations: “Bringing Safety Home” Award To Recognize Local Residential Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Efforts

The Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition (HFSC) and NFPA’s Fire Sprinkler Initiative are teaming up with the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) to present a national award that recognizes the outstanding local efforts of a fire chief who has worked to increase the installation of residential fire sprinkler systems in his or her service area.

HFSC and NFPA will jointly present the “Bringing Safety Home” Award during the IAFC’s Fire and Life Safety Section at the 2012 Fire Rescue International in Denver, CO this August.

Nominations for the Award will be accepted through July 6, 2012.

The recipient will be selected from nominees that have used HFSC’s educational materials along with NFPA’s Fire Sprinkler Initiative resources as the foundation of a local, regional or statewide program to educate about the need for more home fire sprinkler system installations as a method to reduce fire injury and death.

Last year’s Award recipient was California State Fire Marshal Tonya Hoover, who was recognized for leading the successful statewide adoption and implementation of a residential fire sprinkler requirement.

For more than 15 years, HFSC has developed and provided comprehensive, non-commercial, educational materials that inform about the life safety benefits of protecting homes with fire sprinkler systems. HFSC’s mission is solely educational and its materials are available to everyone at no cost through HFSC’s website:

The Fire Sprinkler Initiative is a grassroots effort of the nonprofit National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).  The Initiative strives to ensure that decision-makers have the technical and practical information they need to understand and communicate the importance of home fire sprinkler legislation.  The Initiative also supports individuals, agencies and organizations working for the adoption of local sprinkler ordinances and model codes. Learn more at

IAFC Members may submit their nominations by July 6, 2012 at

# # #